Car crashes in Wisconsin are very common. Every year, there are: - Roughly 23,700 car crashes involving injuries - Over 32,000 people injured in car crashes If you’ve been injured in a Wisconsin car accident, you’ll need to familiarize yourself with how the law works. Here’s what you need to know.
- Stop at the scene (do not drive away). - Render necessary assistance to those involved. - Call the authorities. - Remain at the scene to give contact details, registration, license, and insurance information.
- You have three years after a car accident to file a personal injury claim. - If the accident involved a death, you have two years.
- Shared fault laws – or modified comparative negligence – holds all people involved in the accident partly liable based on their involvement. - Drivers may only pursue damages if they are found to be less than 50% liable.
There are three types of damages involved in Wisconsin car accidents: - Specific damages – medical expenses, lost wages, property damage, etc. - General damages – pain and suffering, loss of enjoyment, reduced quality of life, etc. - Punitive damages – awarded for recklessness from the at-fault party in causing the accident.
Minimum liability for car accidents in Wisconsin are: - $25,000 for bodily injury or death - $50,000 for injury or death per accident - $10,000 for property damage
- If you were injured in a car accident involving a government vehicle, you must send a notice to the attorney general within 120 days. - Damages are limited to $250,000 per person.
For any questions about a personal injury in Wisconsin, don’t hesitate to request a FREE consultation.