Mistakes You Must Avoid After a Car Accident in Wisconsin: 7 Things to Know

Most victims of car accidents are facing the situation for the first time – and there are many mistakes to avoid in the legal process, including:

Mistake 1: Not Reporting the Accident

Per Wisconsin law, you are required to report a car accident to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation within 10 days if there were injuries, deaths, or property damage above $1,000

Mistake 2: Admitting Fault at the Scene

Admitting fault – in any form – may limit or completely void your ability to receive compensation for damages.

Mistake 3: Not Getting Medical Attention

Some injuries can take hours or days to show symptoms. The medical staff at the scene is trained to identify these injuries in the early stages.

Mistake 4: Not Collecting Enough Evidence

The more evidence you can gather, the stronger your case will be. This should include documentation of the: ·  Vehicles involved ·  The vehicle’s positioning ·  Visible injuries ·  Road conditions ·  Traffic signs ·  Any other relevant circumstances

Mistake 5: Neglecting to Inform Your Insurance Company

A delay in reporting the accident could potentially result in the insurance company denying the claim. Get this done ASAP.

Mistake 6: Accepting the First Settlement Offer

Insurance companies will commonly offer low settlements to resolve car accident cases quickly – and it’s usually an offer that doesn’t cover damages.

Mistake 7: Negotiating a Settlement WITHOUT Hiring a Car Accident Attorney

Trying to negotiate without one will almost certainly result in a lowball settlement – if anything at all.

Importance of a Good Car Accident Attorney

Car accident attorneys are trained to negotiate with insurance companies and fight for a rightful settlement.

Looking for more?

Read the full post to learn more about the most common Wisconsin car accident mistakes.

Have questions?

Get in touch with Mahony Law to schedule a FREE consultation.