Boating is one of the most popular activities in the Wisconsin summer. But unfortunately, this pastime results in hundreds of boating accidents every year. Here’s what you need to know.
Wisconsin state law requires boating accidents to be reported within 10 days – and there are serious consequences if you don’t.
Boating accidents must be reported to the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources (WDNR) if the results involve:
Death of a person Disappearance of a person Injury that requires medical treatment Property damage over $2,000
These can be filed via Form 4100-20.
Examples of reckless or negligent boat operation include:
Boating in a designated swimming area Operating a boat while intoxicated Disturbing wildlife with your boat Weaving through boat traffic
Jumping a wake within 100 feet of another vessel
The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources advises boaters to:
Have U.S. Coast Guard-approved life jackets for each person aboard.
Keep a fire extinguisher onboard.
Maintain working boat lights.
Keep emergency supplies – floating pouch, cell phone, flares, first aid kit, etc.
All recreational vessels must be registered with a Wisconsin Certificate Number. The exception to this is sailboats under 12 feet long.
The owner of the boat is legally and financially responsible for any collisions – regardless of whether or not they were driving.
Filing a boating accident claim with the WDNR is especially important if the boat has been severely damaged, or if someone has been injured or died during the incident.
Mahony Law is an experienced boat accident injury firm. We’ll help you understand the state’s boating accident regulations, personal injury laws, and how your situation factors in.
Read the full post to learn more about boat accident injury cases – and your options for legal recourse.